The 2 Eva’s

Image result for free pictures of frida kahlo

Frida Kahlo was a Mexican artist who lived from 1907 to 1954. She painted mostly self portraits that epitomized both her physical and emotional pain. My favorite piece by this artist is “The Two Fridas.”

Image result for free pictures of frida kahlo

The painting shows the artist sitting beside her double in front of big, gray storm clouds. The Frida on the right is adorned in her colorful, native garb, while the Frida on the left is wearing a white gown inspired by European fashion. A sense of unity is established as the women are seen holding hands and sharing a vein that connects one heart to the other.

Now I know that the painting symbolizes much more than I summarize here, but there is one point that I feel compelled to make. Frida Kahlo shows us the need to separate one side of ourselves from the other in order to survive. Then in extreme cases, it is necessary to join those two personalities in order to thrive.

In my case I need to do both…separate in order to develop my strengths and then combine those forces into what will be “One dynamite gal”, as they say on Wreck it Ralph. Anybody else like that cartoon? Just me? Oh ok. Anyway…

May I introduce THE 2 EVAS

Eva L.

One thought on “The 2 Eva’s

  1. Hey ,beautiful picture!!! It made me think that even though ur separate souls, you love,think, feel, and grow as one.
    Thanks for that Inspiration of the day.
    Keep’em coming gurl!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

